Making Democracy Work

The United States of America

Elected and Appointed Officials in US

The government of the United States of America is the federal government of the republic of fifty states that constitute the United States, as well as one capital district, and several other territories. The federal government is composed of three distinct branches: legislative, executive, and judicial, whose powers are vested by the U.S. Constitution in the Congress, the President, and the federal courts, including the Supreme Court, respectively. The powers and duties of these branches are further defined by acts of Congress, including the creation of executive departments and courts inferior to the Supreme Court.

Buildings Housing the Three Branches of Government

The United States Capitol

The Supreme Court

The White House

Executive Branch

Legeslative Branch

Judicial Branch