Making Democracy Work

The United States of America


The government of the United States of America is the federal government of the republic of fifty states that constitute the United States, as well as one capital district, and several other territories. The federal government is composed of three distinct branches: legislative, executive, and judicial, whose powers are vested by the U.S. Constitution in the Congress, the President, and the federal courts, including the Supreme Court, respectively. The powers and duties of these branches are further defined by acts of Congress, including the creation of executive departments and courts inferior to the Supreme Court.


Executive Branch

President and Vice President

President, Vice-president

Cabinet and Appointed

Cabinet, Cabinet Level, Appointed

Legislative Branch

Legislative Branch

South Carolina Senators and Representatives

Important positions in Congress

Judicial Branch

Judicial Branch

Chief Justice

Supreme Court Members

Kinds of Courts and Important Cases

Information about the Judicial Branch